

Draft Minutes of Annual General Meeting

When:	Monday 12 May 2025, 6:00-7:30pm
Where:	St Andrews on The Terrace + Zoom videoconference
Present:	Simon Wright (Chair), Andrew Ecclestone (Committee), John Pennington (Committee), Finn Shewell (Committee), Keitha Booth, Dinah Bunny, Graeme Edgeler, Aidan Gauper, Murray Jaspers, Rosalind McIntosh, Max Rashbrooke, Philippa Yasbek, Oliver Winter, Suzanne Snively, Kevin Miniter, Daniel Tohill, Dominic Tay, Roger Tweedy, Graham Hill
Apologies:	Finlay Harvey (Committee), Dave Henderson, David Lillis, Maureen Gillon, Marilyn Hunt.

1. Simon Wright opened the meeting shortly after 6:00pm, welcomed people and gave a brief account about Trust Democracy, the agenda for the meeting, discussion guidelines, and noted apologies.

Presentation by Associate Professor Matheson Russell

- 2. Simon Wright introduced Associate Professor Dr Matheson Russell, a political philosopher from the University of Auckland, and invited him to deliver his presentation on 'More Referenda, Better Democracy?' After the presentation, Simon Wright facilitated a question and answer session.
- 3. After thanking Dr Russell for his contribution, Simon Wright called on members to stay for the formal part of the meeting and invited others to stay if they wished.
- 4. After number of attendees left, the meeting was conducted under Rules 39.2 of the Constitution.

Minutes of the previous AGM

5. No issues or questions were raised about the minutes of the 2024 Annual General Meeting that was held on 6 May 2024. Simon Wright moved, and Finn Shewell seconded, that the minutes be accepted as a true and correct record, and the motion was carried.

Annual Report, Committee disclosures and Financial Statements

6. The Annual Report, which contained a section on committee disclosures, and the Financial Statements had been emailed to members a week before the



meeting. Simon Wright noted key points and highlights from these documents. He thanked committee members for their work and members for their support, and gave special acknowledgement to Maureen Gillon who was the inaugural Chair and resigned in 2024, and John Pennington, who attended committee meetings even though he wasn't a member. No questions were raised.

- 7. Simon Wright moved that the Annual Report 2024-25 be approved. This was seconded by Andrew Ecclestone, and the motion was carried.
- 8. Simon Wright moved that the Financial Statements for 2024-25 be approved. Finn Shewell seconded the motion, and the motion was carried.

Election of Officers

9. Simon Wright explained that 2 nominations had been received for the 3 committee vacancies, and Anna Curnow and John Pennington were therefore unopposed. Simon Wright moved that they be elected, and Andrew Ecclestone seconded the motion. Anna and John were elected to the committee.

Membership fees

10. Simon Wright noted the Committee's recommendation that Trust Democracy's annual membership fee policy remain as decided at the 2021 Annual General Meeting, that is by koha, before moving that the current membership fees policy be retained. Andrew Ecclestone seconded the motion and it was carried.

Motions and Special Resolutions

11. Simon Wright explained that Trust Democracy is currently registered under the Incorporated Society Act 1908 and that this is the last AGM before the deadline for re-registration under the new 2022 Act. He thanked Kevin McCormack and Alister Argyle for their help with the proposed amendments. He then moved each of the following in turn.

Special Resolution		Seconded	Passed/Failed
1.	Amendments required by the Incorporated Societies Act 2022	Finn Shewell	Passed
2.	Substantive amendments proposed by the Committee of Trust Democracy to increase the maximum size of the Committee from 6 to 8	Finn Shewell	Passed
3.	Amendments proposed by the Committee of Trust Democracy to tidy up other matters (typos, errors, definitions)	Finn Shewell	Passed



2	4.	Transmit a copy of the consolidated	Finn	Passed
		constitution to the Registrar for re-registration under the 2022 Act	Shewell	

General business

- 12. Simon Wright led a general discussion about the state of democracy in New Zealand and recent democratic innovations, including the Porirua Assembly on Climate.
- 13. The meeting was closed 7:30pm.

Signed:

Simon Wright Chair

Dated:

21 May 2025