

Draft Minutes of Annual General Meeting

When:	Monday 6 May 2024, 7:30-9:10pm
Where:	Zoom videoconference
Present:	Simon Wright (Chair), Andrew Ecclestone (Committee), John Pennington (Committee), Maureen Gillon (Committee), Anna Curnow (Committee), Finn Shewell, David Lillis, Jan Rivers, Jacqui Van Der Kaay, Max Rashbrooke, Keitha Booth, Rosalind McIntosh, Marilyn Hunt, Kevin Miniter, Martin Rodgers, Anne Bardsley
Apologies:	Finlay Harvey (Committee), John Stowell

Simon Wright opened the meeting shortly after 7:30pm, welcomed people and gave a brief account about Trust Democracy, the agenda for the meeting, discussion and Zoom guidelines, and noted that apologies had been received from Finlay Harvey and John Stowell.

Presentation by Dr Emily Beausoleil

Simon Wright introduced Dr Emily Beausoleil, a Senior Lecturer of Politics at Te Herenga Waka-Victoria University, and invited her to deliver her presentation entitled 'Democracy in settler-colonial societies – weapon or tool?' After the presentation, attendees were assigned to breakout groups for 5 minutes to generate questions. On returning to the plenary, group representatives posed questions to Dr Beausoleil.

After thanking Dr Beausoleil for her contribution, Simon Wright called on members to stay for the formal part of the meeting and invited others to stay if they wished. While a number of attendees left the meeting at this stage, a quorum of members – Simon Wright, Andrew Ecclestone, John Pennington, Maureen Gillon, Anna Curnow, Finn Shewell, David Lillis, Jan Rivers, Keitha Booth, Kevin Miniter – was maintained.

Minutes of the previous AGM

No issues or questions were raised about the minutes of the 2023 Annual General Meeting that was held on 9 May 2023. Simon Wright moved, and Anna Curnow seconded, that the minutes be accepted as a true and correct record, and the motion was carried.

Annual Report, Financial Statements and Committee disclosures

The Annual Report, which contained a section on committee disclosures, and the Financial Statements had been emailed to everyone several days before the meeting. Simon Wright noted key points and highlights from these documents. He thanked committee members for their work and members for their support, and gave special acknowledgement to John Pennington who was stepping down from the committee after serving two terms. No questions were raised.

Simon Wright moved that the Annual Report 2023-24 be approved. This was seconded by Maureen Gillon, and the motion was carried.



Simon Wright moved that the Financial Statements for 2023-24 be approved. Andrew Ecclestone seconded the motion, and the motion was carried.

Election of Officers

Simon Wright handed the chairing of the meeting over to Anna Curnow for the election of officers.

Anna Curnow explained that 4 nominations had been received for the 4 committee vacancies, and Andrew Ecclestone, Finn Sewell, Maureen Gillon and Simon Wright were therefore elected unopposed.

Anna Curnow explained that Simon Wright was the only committee member who had been nominated for the office of Chair, and that he was therefore elected unopposed.

Simon Wright resumed chairing the meeting after the election of officers.

Membership fees

Simon Wright noted the Committee's recommendation that Trust Democracy's annual membership fee policy remain as decided at the 2021 Annual General Meeting, that is by koha, before moving that the current membership fees policy be retained. John Pennington seconded the motion and it was carried.

General business

Simon Wright led a discussion about Trust Democracy strategic planning process and encouraged members to participate in it via the https://consider.it platform before closing the meeting just after 9:10pm.

Signed:

Simon Wright

Chair

Dated: 10 May 2024